Brand List (Ethical Fashion)

My definition of an ethical fashion brands varies. There are brands which are inherently ethical in their ethos, (labour, eco fabric, all of it) and publicise this as a main part of their name. Labour is what is most important for me, which is why on this page I include eco brands, but also just more well known brands who make their clothes under ethical conditions but are not necessarily the loudest champions of ‘biodegradable fabric’ or whatever.

This gives me wide scope to buy clothes from many places.

This is a list of clothing brands which I would feel comfortable buying from (I haven’t necessarily bought things from all these brands!) I have split the list into a general list, and eco focused brands. This is not a conclusive list of brands, just ones that appeal to me.

PLEASE feel free to correct me, give me more information – I am always willing to learn more !

General:

Ace&Jig (small, hippy boutique. if you’re looking for something unique)

Alexander McQueen

All Saints (I’ve looked into these lot again since making this list, and now I’m not so sure….?)

American Apparel

Angela Roi (vegan handbags)

Antibad (boutique with lots of small brands)

Arket (owned by H&M group)

Armed Angels (range of ethical produced items, quite hippy style)

Batoko (swimwear)

Baukjen (not trendy as such)

Bella Freud (DESIGNER)

Beyond Skin (shoes)

Bibico (hippy style, floaty dresses)

Birdsong (the nicest ethical company there is. very good at t-shirts)

Blake LDN (knitwear)

Byem (cool scandi, small range)

Cheap Monday

Champion

Cossac (lovely small indie company, small range but nice stuff) £££

D.Effect (trendy boutique, expensive, scandi).

Doen

Elisabeth Suzann ( US ) £££

Everlane (American, big range of basic cuts)

Finery (UK, maxi skirts and dresses, nice patterns, big range.)

Fool Dost (small boutique £££)

Ganni (I’m not sure anymore…… seem to not give a lot of information about anything)

Good Days Club

Hush

Iden Denim

Jigsaw

kin ldn (We Are Kin)

Komodo

Lazy Oaf

Levis

Loeil

Lonely       ££    stocked at GoodHood and lonelylabel.com

Lucy and Yak

Madewell

Maje

Mara Mma

Marni

Matt&Nat (bags)

Mashu (accessories)

Me&Em

Miyamiko

Nanushka

Ninety Percent

Noa Vee

Olive

Oliver Bonas

One Choice Apparel

People Tree

PIC Style

Pyne and Smith

Rag and Bone

Reformation

Rixo

Rockholly            rainwear at rockholly.com

Sacet

Scotch and Soda

SCRT

Sezanne

Staud

Stella McCartney

Style 34

TOAST

The Keep

Thoreau

Uterque

Universal Standard (USA only)

Veja (shoes)

Veryan

Vetta ( US )

Vivienne Westwood

Vincetta Studios (USA)

Where Mountains Meet

Whistles

 

Eco-focused brands:

Aiayu        ££           at aiayu.de       and Reve en Vert

Ally Bee      ££          Knitwear, at ally-bee.com and The Good Place Boutique

Beaumont Organic      ££       Basics, at beaumontorganic.com and Manchester store

Birdsong         £-££       at birdsong.com

Bozena Jankowska     ££  at bozenajankowska.com and Curated Crowd and Reve en Vert

Carcel              ££        at carcel.co  and net-a-porter

Dagny            ££          at  dagnylondon.com

Dai               ££         Workwear at daiwear.com

Eileen Fisher     £££     basics, casual

Filippa K       ££     at filippa-k.com

Heinui         ££              at heinui.com   and Couverture and Garbstore, and FOLD

Henri London          ££               at henri.london and Hackney store

Hund Hund         £       at hundhund.com

Ilk and Ernie        £          at ilkandernie.com

Know the Origin    £      Basics, at knowtheorigin.com

Lara Intimates        £        Underwear at laraintimates.com

Liadain Aiken           ££         Knitwear at liadainaiken.com

Luva Huva         £      Underwear at luvahuva.co.uk

Maison Chateau Rouge         ££           at Browns

Mandkhai      ££      at mandkhai.com    and Fenwicks

Miranda Bennett    £££

Monkee Genes         £            Denim at monkeegenes.com

Ninety Percent     £        Basics, at ninetypercent.com

People Tree       ££            at peopletree.co.uk    and    John Lewis, ASOS

PIC Style        ££    at pic-style.com

Rixo       £££      at rixo.co.uk  and Selfridges, Harvey Nichols, Liberty, net-a-porter

Silou              ££         Sportwear at siloulondon.com

Sunad             ££        at sunad.es    and Wolf and Badger, Modern Society, The Acey

Thought         ££           at wearethought.com

Will and Pop    £             Denim at willandpop.com